Hollow fame

Ever followed SkyNews on Twitter? I did this morning and below is the email I got a few hours later: For a split second I felt a hint of self-importance – “SkyNews, following me? Never!”. Well, actually, that’s right, it wasn’t a big deal. Their follower:following ratio is approximately 1:1. Will they ever actually read my tweets? No, not really. Do I see this is as a small step up the Big Brother-sponsored social ladder to fame and stardom? No, but I can easily imagine how this kind of process sucks many into thinking so.

Sky News (SkyNews) is now following your updates on Twitter.


18548 followers
14888 updates
following 17561 people


Leave a Reply

